Redistricting maps arrive: major changes proposed for North Country

New maps are being released at this hour from the legislature’s LATFOR committee.  They include dramatic changes for parts of the North Country, while other areas are left largely untouched.


The biggest change is for St. Lawrence County, which will now be divided between three Assembly districts, including the new 117th district which will stretch all the way to southern Herkimer and Fulton County.

Also, Teresa Sayward will lose Hamilton County, picking up more of Washington County.


Another big change:  Hamilton County would be stripped out of state Senator Betty Little’s district.  A new 49th Senate district would be created that would include a big chunk of the central, western and southern Adirondacks.

Little’s district will expand to take up a big chunk of St. Lawrence County.

These are only proposals.  There will now be hearings and a political process to determine final lines, but this blueprint will be hugely influential.  Tune in for more during All Before 5 at 4:45pm.

You can view all the proposed redistricting maps here:

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

Comments are closed.